As the Supreme Court lifted the injunction on the second Executive Order regarding the travel ban, questions abound regarding its implementation and how it will affect both visa issuance and entry into the United States. Visa issuance is overseen by the Department of State while entry into the United States is overseen by Customs and Border Protection.

The Department of State issued guidance regarding visa issuance and clarified certain definitions and terms as they apply to implementation for visa adjudication as discussed in the Executive Order and the Supreme Court decision. The components listed in the Executive Order will go into effect at 8 p.m. EST on June 29, 2017, and for most U.S. consulates and embassies around the world, it will go into effect on June 30, 2017 when they open for business. The travel ban will remain in effect for 90 days, and does not apply to individuals who were inside the U.S. on June 29, 2017; who have a valid visa as of June 29, 2017; who had a valid visa as of 8 p.m. EST on January 29, 2017, even after the visas expired and they departed the U.S.; and to those who qualify under the exemption or waiver, as will be detailed below.

To read the full GT Alert, click here.