On May 24, 2020, President Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation, which was subsequently amended on May 25, 2020, to be effective at 11:59 p.m. EST on May 26, 2020, which prohibits the entry of immigrants and nonimmigrants who were physically present within Brazil during the 14-day period preceding their entry into the United States. These restrictions are similar to those currently in effect for nonimmigrants and immigrants traveling to the U.S. from the U.K., Ireland, the Schengen Area, China and Iran. These restrictions will remain in place until terminated by the President. The Secretary of Health and Human Services shall recommend to the President every 15 days after the date of the Proclamation whether or not to continue, modify, or terminate the Proclamation. Similar to the prior travel restrictions, there are significant exceptions, most notably:

  • U.S. Citizens and legal permanent residents;
  • Spouses and other eligible immediate family members of U.S. citizens and legal permanent residents;
  • U.S. Armed Forces members and their spouses and children;
  • Crew members traveling to the U.S. on air or sea vessels;
  • Diplomatic and U.N. representatives;
  • Any foreign nationals that would “further important United States law enforcement objectives” or whose entry would be in the U.S. national interest as determined by the Secretary of State, the
  • Secretary of Homeland Security, or other relevant U.S. government entity.

We will continue to monitor this continuously changing situation.

For more information, see our earlier post, U.S. Immigration and Coronavirus Disease 2019 – Facts, Thoughts, Questions and Answers.