On Jan. 18, 2021, President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation terminating his previous Presidential Proclamations restricting travel from certain Schengen areas (Proclamation 9993), UK/Ireland (Proclamation 9996), and Brazil (Proclamation 10041). President Trump cites recent developments in the battle against COVID-19, including the CDC requiring negative COVID-19 tests for all air passengers entering the United States from a foreign country, and cooperation from the countries listed above. President Trump had also issued Presidential Proclamations banning travel from China and Iran, and the restrictions from those countries have not been lifted.

The terminations for the three Proclamations will be effective at 12:01 a.m. EST on Jan. 26, 2021. There are, however, expectations that President-elect Joe Biden, once he takes office, will delay the termination for a few weeks until there is a better understanding from his administration on how the U.S. is faring vis-à-vis COVID-19.